about SBCOG

Since its establishment as a Council of Governments in 1973, our agency was statutorily designated to serve in the following capacities:

  • County Transportation Commission (1976) – Allocates and programs State and Federal funds for regional transportation projects throughout the county.
  • Service Authority for Freeway Emergencies (1986) – Manages the system of call boxes on major highways throughout the county.
  • County Transportation Authority (1989) – Administers the voter-approved half-cent transportation sales tax and provides major transportation improvements within the county.
  • Congestion Management Agency (1990) – Implements the plan for addressing congestion and air quality related to transportation facilities throughout the county.

In 2016, the agency sponsored Senate Bill 1305 (Morrell), consolidating the agency into as two entities, the San Bernardino County Transportation Authority (SBCTA) and the San Bernardino Associated Governments (to be known as the San Bernardino Council of Governments (SBCOG))  The bill passed through both houses and was signed by the Governor in August 2016.  As of January 1, 2017, the San Bernardino Associated Governments, serving in each capacity as noted above, is primarily known as SBCTA.

At the November 2, 2016 Board of Directors Meeting, in an effort to highlight the agency’s Council of Governments efforts, it was approved to have the San Bernardino Associated Governments do business as the San Bernardino Council of Governments (SBCOG).

Serving more than 2.1 million residents of San Bernardino County, our mission is to enhance the quality of life for all residents in San Bernardino County by:

  • Improving cooperative regional planning;
  • Strengthening economic development efforts; and
  • Exerting leadership in creative problem solving.

The Board of Directors, acting in its capacity as the San Bernardino Associated Governments, approved this mission statement on June 2, 1993 and reaffirmed it on March 6, 1996.

About Our County

San Bernardino County is a diverse county that encompasses approximately 20,000 square miles and is home to:

  • Urban areas in the most populated communities of the southwest county;
  • The growing Victor Valley comprised of four cities with expansive residential development;
  • The resort communities of the San Bernardino Mountains and Colorado River; and
  • The vast desert areas with scattered rural communities.

Unique mining resources abide in San Bernardino County's open desert spaces, which are also home to Joshua Tree National Park, the Mojave National Preserve, and the U.S. Army and Marine training and material depots. By the year 2025, this county of urban, suburban and rural character is forecast to grow to a total of 2.78 million residents.



Member Jurisdictions

  • City of Adelanto
  • Town of Apple Valley
  • City of Barstow
  • City of Big Bear Lake
  • City of Chino
  • City of Chino Hills
  • City of Colton
  • City of Fontana
  • City of Grand Terrace
  • City of Hesperia
  • City of Highland
  • City of Loma Linda
  • City of Montclair
  • City of Needles
  • City of Ontario
  • City of Rancho Cucamonga
  • City of Redlands
  • City of Rialto
  • City of San Bernardino
  • County of San Bernardino
  • City of Twentynine Palms
  • City of Upland
  • City of Victorville
  • City of Yucaipa
  • Town of Yucca Valley

San Bernardino Council of Governments

  • 909.884.8276
  • 1170 W. 3rd Street, 2nd Floor
    San Bernardino, CA 92410-1715
  • Mon – Thurs   8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
    Friday 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.



© 2017 SBCOG.
Last updated: February 3, 2017

This is the official website for the
San Bernardino Council of Governments.